‘Blessed’ Status

What’s your ‘blessed’ status?

In Genesis 37, Joseph, a teenager, seemed to know his ‘blessed’ status early on. He told his older brothers all about it in two dreams he had “…and your bundles all gathered around and bowed low before mine!” “The sun, moon, and eleven stars bowed low before me!”

And from there a series of life changing events happened, to put it mildly. ‘Life’ began to unfold. Joseph was sold into slavery, had false rape charges brought aginst him, he was imprisoned, and in time, he became the ruler of Egypt and had a family reunion that would tug on anyone’s heart strings. But with everything that life threw at Joseph his ‘blessed’ status remained. And the promises God made to Joseph’s father, Jacob, reigned true.

I enjoy social media, it allows us in so many ways to connect with our friends, make a few new ones, catch up with family, inspire others, encourage many and even post scripture. But a wondrous impression that good things are happening minute by minute in real-time may be lulling us. What about the everyday adversities of life that need every bit of Jesus Christ to make it through?

What about the real happenings, the real thoughts of the day, the status updates that are posted on the walls of our hearts. Like…

The number of love ones I have or the love ones I don’t…

The wellness of my body or the sickness traveling through it…

The job security yesterday or the unemployment benefits today…

The quiet spouse in the house or the loud spouse that just walked out…

The child that loves me or the child that hates me…

The love in my heart for others or the hate buried deep inside…

The mother who held my hand or the father I just can’t stand…

The plans that succeeded or the plans that failed miserably…

The rent that’s paid or the mortgage that’s late…

The pastor who asked me to stay or the church member who told me to leave…

Will life’s difficulties and life’s blessings come and go without reasons we can grasp? Yes, their actually one in the same.

Joy, hurt, the whole package, is all included in this thing we call life, our Christian lives as well. No escaping it. And although most of the realness that happens in life won’t make it onto our status updates, following and trusting in Jesus Christ isn’t meant to be effortless but a strengthening of our faith.

So let’s keep it and never let it go. Now that’s faith!

2 Corinthians 12:8-10 Three different times I begged the Lord to take it away. Each time he said, “My grace is all you need. My power works best in weakness.” So now I am glad to boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ can work through me. That’s why I take pleasure in my weaknesses, and in the insults, hardships, persecutions, and troubles that I suffer for Christ. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

Photo Credit: Birgerking

Related article: Increase My Capacity (livingwithmelissa.wordpress.com)

3 comments

  1. Amen!!! Loves this….

  2. Tahlitha, I was tagged and now I am tagging you! Please check the link below:

    http://craigmotor.wordpress.com/2012/03/23/ive-been-tagged/

Share your thoughts...comments are welcomed!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 221 other followers