Fear for Freedom: Trading it All In

Photo Credit: Austin Paul White (Creative Commons)

A couple of days ago I sat on a bench in front of the local rose garden (my favorite writing place) reading, studying, and loving on God’s word. Occasionally glancing up to watch the energetic walkers, joggers, and runners go by. Then I heard a voice (no it wasn’t from the Lord), it was a man across the street, standing behind a shopping cart next to a large trash bin. He was talking to himself.

And although I couldn’t make out every word he was saying, his voice caught my ear and my attention. What struck me the most was how comfortable he felt next to that trash bin, in his own thoughts, that he could say anything. I wondered how this, of all places, was where he felt he could let out every thought running around in his head. No restrictions. Every thought out in the open.

(Side note: I’m not making light of mental disorders but of God’s glory.)

And it made me question how reserved was my praise in the world. If God was calling me out to that same kind of freedom, in Him? To a place of no matter where, no matter what, no matter who, that I could speak just as boldly. Glorifying, giving away, and sharing the love of Jesus Christ, placed in my heart. It can be a scary thing to turn over fear for freedom. But how long was I going to reserve my affections, my love for Christ, from others?

So I packed up my book bag walked over to the gentleman, asked him if he was hungry and went to the supermarket and got him some lunch. I thanked the Lord for that man on my way up and we prayed together when I returned. After all, God had just showed me through Charles exactly the kind of closeness He wants from me.

Ultimately that day, God showed me that He does His greatest work in others to show us that He lives. And isn’t that the point of Christianity, to show at all times that God lives, in us?

1 Peter 2:9 But you are not like that, for you are a chosen people. You are royal priests, a holy nation, God’s very own possession. As a result, you can show others the goodness of God, for He called you out of the darkness into his wonderful light.

Share your voice...it's a blessing!

