Correction for My Soul

Salvation, having an eternal relationship with God, is the foundation to the many other desires I found in Jesus Christ. And what I know now, is that I also found correction.

Titus 1:2 This truth gives them confidence that they have eternal life, which God—who does not lie—promised them before the world began.

Along with God’s salvation, I wanted to search the scriptures to know how God saw His special possessions (you and me). How my life matched up with His word. And it didn’t. It was far from it. Not even close. Reading the Bible, lead me to know that God wanted every bit of it though, everything I thought, everything I was, everything that I claimed were the ‘rights’ in my life. God wanted me to turn them over, all of them, for His correction. A better way.

2 Corinthians 13:5 Examine yourselves to see if your faith is genuine. Test yourselves. Surely you know that Jesus Christ is among (in) you; if not, you have failed the test of genuine faith.

Believe it or not, God’s word is filled with correction. ‘I can’t give that up.’ ‘I can’t let that go.’ ‘I can’t change that.’ ‘I can’t say that.’ ‘I can’t go there.’ But how good is our God, that He can? That He offers correction.

Exodus 4:11 Then the Lord asked Moses, “Who makes a person’s mouth? Who decides whether people speak or do not speak, hear or do not hear, see or do not see? Is it not I, the Lord?

Trusting in God’s correction, no matter our point of view isn’t easy. ‘Lord, you want me to drop my guard?’ ‘You want me to stand on your promises when I feel like I’m going to fall flat on my face?’ ‘You want to correct years of me being opinionated, years of me being prideful, years of me being resentful?’ ‘You can do that, huh? Correct all of that?’

And God says, Yes. Humble yourself just enough, just a little and watch me work in your life. And He does, daily.

Exodus 4:12 Now go! I will be with you as you speak, and I will instruct you in what to say.”

We Christian’s don’t earn salvation but salvation has God’s power attached to it. Jesus was attached, literally, to the cross and rose from dead to life, to save us, from ourselves. Sin, so nicely wrapped, is simply me knowing me, what’s best for me. God’s love and correction, so freely given, is me being wrapped securely in the Savior’s plan, knowing He knows what’s best for me.

I’m so thankful in Christ, that there’s not one thing that I have to trust in myself for. It’s not required. Correction for my soul.

Proverbs 3:5 Trust in the Lord with all your heart; do not depend on your own understanding.

*Photo Credit: Steven DePolo

Share your voice...it's a blessing!

