Christians Use God as a Crutch

I repeat, ‘Christians use God as a crutch.’ Well, we do. And we should. And in order to be healed of anything we have to realize we’re broken, not just in heart, but broken in spirit.

People break us. Words break us. Relationships break us. Even our very best efforts can leave us feeling broken. But what if every broken promise, every unkind word, every failed relationship, God was stripping you, tearing you down to draw you closer to Him and His promises. Him and His Word. Him and the relationship He wants with you. What if life’s most unfavorable and painful moments were God’s instructions to us?

Joshua 7:6 Joshua and the elders of Israel tore their clothing in dismay, threw dust on their heads, and bowed face down to the ground before the Ark of the Lord until evening.

There have been times in prayer when I’ve cried (a blubbering mess), rejoiced, begged and even fought. I’ve come to God praying for validation only to be stripped of my motives. It was as if God was asking me, ‘Why are you really here?’ ‘Why are you really on your knees?’ ‘Are you really here for Me or for you?’ Those sobering questions revealed my true heart. Dependance and repentance. It had to be all or nothing.

For a while I wondered why I had to depend and repent in prayer? Why couldn’t I just come to God with a need and He take care of it? That’s what He wanted, right? But along with the opportunity to pray there was also the sacrifice of prayer that I had to come to God with.

You see, sometimes we get right up off our knees, unbroken, no pieces, wanting to help God, assist God, add to God’s plan. Instead of relying on Him we ask for some of our prayer back. ‘That’s not really so big Lord, let me help you with that.’ Sort of hovering over our prayer.

Broken in spirit really means broken in spirit. Humbled. Every broken piece of my life is yours Jesus. Whether I caused it or not. That I have no desire, no strength, no will, there’s nothing about me or this situation that I can repair. Only you Lord.

What I learn daily, and believe me it’s daily, is that God doesn’t bless me based solely on my need but the reverence I give to Him, the One who can fulfill every need.

Psalm 51:17 The sacrifice you desire is a broken spirit. You will not reject a broken and repentant heart, O God.

Photo Credit: Soccerkrys

6 comments

  1. oh, that is so awesomely true! You really nailed it! It’s how I do Him a lot of the time. Here, Lord, here it all is. Then I get up and take most of it with me when I leave.
    http://servehiminthewaiting.wordpress.com/2012/03/15/he-will-give-you-rest/

  2. Hi Shekinah, yeah I know what you mean. What I like to do is a ‘pray and walk’. That way I can definitely leave it in God’s hand.

  3. Wendy Joy · ·

    I am so thankful to read the words i feel written by another hand ..
    absolutely spot on! God Bless

  4. Thanks for reading. I enjoyed ‘Trust in Thee’ as well. When we’re living inside His plan worry takes a back seat.

    God bless you, too.

Share your voice...it's a blessing!

