I Come in Peace…or Do I?

We Christians don’t want to offend anybody, yet alone another Christian.

Love, don’t judge, right?

Matthew 7:1,2,3 “Do not judge others, and you will not be judged. 2 For you will be treated as you treat others. The standard you use in judging is the standard by which you will be judged. 3 “And why worry about the speck in your friend’s eyes when you have a log in your own?”

All three verses point to motive, standards, and self:

  1. Why am I judging?

  2. Am I glorifying God or myself?

  3. Am I judging under the convictions I’ve surrendered to Christ or the ones I’m still hiding from?

So how do we Christians go beyond just lifting a brother or sister up in prayer, to pointing out wrong behavior in a Christ-centered way? By placing the Living Word, Jesus Christ, as the corner stone of the conversation. Offering the same salvation we, ourselves, found in Jesus.

‘But that’s my best friend, my spouse, my child, my sister, my brother, a church member, a co-worker, my boss.’ Then the bigger question becomes, ‘Who Am I?’

‘How can I express concern to someone, my past isn’t squeaky clean?’ ‘How can I show an interest in someone’s personal life, I mean please, I was, I did, I’m still…?’

We Christians shouldn’t walk on the eggshells of our past but instead stand on the promises of our Rock of today, Jesus Christ. We Christians should be transparent truths of God’s love. What He has and continues to do in our lives, daily. How we came to Christ not on our own but through that one somebody or persons who wanted us to know about Jesus and his saving power. Someone who loved us enough to point us in the right direction through scripture and concern, not through finger pointing.

Ephesians 2:8,9 God saved you by his grace when you believed. And you can’t take credit for this; it is a gift from God. Salvation is not a reward for the good things we have done, so none of us can boast about it.

Jesus heals, forgives, changes, and sets free those whose past are shameful, dirty, and guilty of every thing under the sun. Not the righteous. Those who come to Jesus are desperate, exhausted, and just plain tired of living how they’re living. Giving it all to Christ. This is the ultimate need for a Savior.

Luke 5:31,32 Jesus answered them, “Healthy people don’t need a doctor—sick people do. I have come to call not those who think they are righteous, but those who know they are sinners and need to repent.

We Christians should share our stories and not boast in our own glory. Judging, is discernment if it’s done in Christ. So let’s go Christians. ‘Who am I?’ isn’t a run away question but an introduction, to Christ.

Have you introduced yourself, in the name of Jesus?

2 Corinthians 3:18 So all of us who have had that veil removed can see and reflect the glory of the Lord. And the Lord—who is the Spirit—makes us more and more like him as we are changed into his glorious image.

Photo Credit: The Going Green Boutique

6 comments

  1. Great post, Tahlitha.

  2. Hi, what a great post! As Christians this is a struggle I think we all face, the line between discernment and judging. “But for the grace of God there go I” is my answer, I am not forgiven because of a life lived in complete service, but justified solely because of the blood of Christ, which has covered all of that past. Thanks for the great article here which points that out so well, God Bless-Jim

  3. Hi Jim, thanks for reading and stopping by.

    It’s not always an easy task to share the salvation we’ve found but it’s well worth it when a friend, family member, etc. comes to Christ and gets to know Him for themselves.

    I look forward to reading more from you. And God bless you, too.

  4. Awesome! Yes we are not to judge but to know whats right and wrong according to scripture. We must align ourselves with like spirits and pray for those who are less fortunate. That they may seek the word for themselves and find truth. If we love God then we love our neighbors too. Just as Christ loves us the sinner but not the sin. Amen

    Shenine

Share your voice...it's a blessing!

