Do You Mind? Your Praise is Turning Me Off

“The best messages are always repeated. Jesus reaffirms God’s message, and now we reaffirm Jesus’ message.” 

Ever wonder if your praise, your very awe of Jesus turns people off? Well, it does. It turns the light off of ourselves and others, and shines the spotlight onto Christ, our Savior and Lord. Jesus took our very nature, to talk about ourselves, and used His voice to usher in His Heavenly Father at all times. God was always a glorified acknowledgment in Jesus’ words, actions, life and His death.

He is a light to reveal God to the nations, and He is the glory of your people Israel!” Luke 2:32

To tell you the truth, I don’t know any other way to display Him than to praise Him. Coming to Christ wasn’t anything I had a hand in doing, He was just well displayed.

In my mother’s voice when she sang in the choir, my aunt’s big heart when she helped others, my grandmother’s hands when she held me close, and in my grandfather’s fervent sermons that reverberated off the church walls every Wednesday and Sunday. Who knows if there would be this song in my heart for Jesus if He hadn’t interrupted, yes interrupted, their lives to show His self. To me.

Peter had no plans of being anything other than a fisherman but he was interrupted, becoming a ‘fisher of people.’ Matthew, whose dishonest plans of being financially secure at any cost were interrupted, becoming rich in a much more valuable way.

Everyone of Jesus’ disciples lives were shaken up and turned around to God’s plan for them when Jesus stood on that mountain and hand-picked them.

…“And they came to him.” (Mark 3:13) Their moment to welcome Christ into their lives was presented to them and they quickly grabbed ahold. Sure God set up the background, the sun, the sky, the mountain,  the breeze in the air, but Jesus called them and the rest of their lives became walking, talking, living, breathing testimonies. Having a holy boldness for Christ.

The members of the council were amazed when they saw the boldness of Peter and John, for they could see that they were ordinary men with no special training in the Scriptures. They also recognized them as men who had been with Jesus.” Acts 4:13

To spread the Good News in a confident way is the purpose of the Holy Spirit. A strength in weakness. A passion in fear. A welcoming to be more than we think we are, more than we think we can do and say. (Philippians 4:13)

But with what kind of voice should I share my faith in Jesus Christ? Humble, bold, long-winded, soft-spoken. Paul answers that.

…“Be honest in your evaluation of yourselves, measuring yourselves by the faith God has given us.” (Romans 12:3)

We are all equipped to speak up and out about Jesus, but with the strength God has given us, individually. A voice uniquely ours. The way we speak to strangers, neighbors, family and friends, (fellow bloggers) about the love of Jesus is as much a gift, as in the way we use it. Encouraging, helpful, and even straight forward may be exactly how God calls us to speak in glorifying Jesus.

Just ask and evaluate, in prayer, the voice God has given you.

Romans 12:8 If your gift is to encourage others, be encouraging. If it is giving, give generously. If God has given you leadership ability, take the responsibility seriously. And if you have a gift for showing kindness to others, do it gladly.

Photo Credit: Nick J Webb

15 comments

  1. do you ever ponder on whether it is god speaking to you or your own desires? i do.

  2. Hi Terry. I’m not a theologian or bible scholar by any means, but I read and study my bible. And I pray to God that He opens my eyes to His word.

    God speaks in His Word and through our lives. Taking a hold of our thoughts for His thoughts. Although we never having a complete understanding.

    I hope these verses help:

    (18) And may you have the power to understand, as all God’s people should, how wide, how long, how high, and deep his love is. (19) May you experience the love of Christ, though it is too great to understand fully. Then you will be made complete with all the fullness of life and power that comes from God. (Ephesians 3)

    Thanks for reading.

  3. thank u for sharing. i am a christian, but sometimes my wants can be strong, and satan can fool me into thinking it is god speaking and it isn’t. it is satan

  4. Great post! I’ve been thinking about our voice lately, glad to see some of it here in your post. God Bless.

  5. If I can add, God’s communicating to us exactly what Jesus assured us of, when He said His sheep know His voice, its not audible, but you know it. Satan only comes to destroy and to kill, He twists and managles God’s words and when he is speaking its to lead us to one of those ends. Also we have the Holy Spirit in us to lead us into all truth so that we won’t be deceived.

  6. Yes indeed. Thank you Thomas.

  7. Thanks for reading. God is gearing me towards sharing more of my faith.

    God bless you, too.

  8. Thought provoking… thank you!

  9. Talitha, Thanks for taking the time to use your voice. What good is a voice if it isn’t used. I heard your voice today (via this post) which you have placed in the Master’s hands and for His use, and this post ministered in ways you cannot imagine. Never underestimate the power of God to use your voice to send a message. I’m listening and so are many others.

  10. Thank you very much. Your (voice) made my morning.

    Take care ‘mommy’ 🙂

  11. Thank you, Vince.

    Enjoyed your post, ‘Misa clandestina; betrayal and redemption.’

  12. Awesome! Great Word…

  13. Thanks Walter, thanks for reading.

    I enjoyed your post as well ‘Mentor-Mentee’. A blessing to read the dedication to serving the Lord in and through others.

  14. The title of this post caught my attention! I am glad I stopped by and read it. I have been encouraged and reminded of a vital truth! Thank you.

  15. You’re welcome, Cristal. Thanks for stopping by. I’m glad.

    I truly enjoyed your post ‘Does God care if “church” is fun?’ Thought provoking.

Share your voice...it's a blessing!

