One Step Closer to Home: Casual or Cause

Since we are living by the Spirit, let us follow the Spirit’s leading in every part of our lives. Galatians 5:25

Yesterday I walked. I walked like I was one step closer to home. With every step, even in the opposite direction of my front door, I was one step closer to home.

I enjoy walking. I enjoy walking when the weather is in support of my delightful mood or when a storm is brewing on the inside. My pavement time, as I like to call it, has become this journey of walking with my closest friend. Listening to reassurances. Hand holding my thoughts. Shaping doubts into what the Potter would have them to be. And trusting that my path is destined in Christ. There’s a new breath and spirit renewed within me from walking.

We don’t always take notice of our steps. Mostly because we take them out of routine. We’re here and then we’re there in the course of a day. In a year. In a lifetime. And it can easily become a blur.

You know the saying, “What happens in Vegas stays in Vegas” well that’s a short-term look on life and our walk. There is no accountability in that saying. And it is not the way we should live our lives here on earth. Our values here on earth will be how we walk into eternity. Or not. Either we’re going live out our lives unaware and forever lost OR once lost but now found.

How important is it to know that when you walk out of your front door that you’re one step closer to home?

Tahlitha Chadwick

Photo Credit: Patrik Jones

13 comments

  1. I haven’t thought of it this way, Tahlitha! 🙂 Thanks for getting me thinking about my steps and where I’m headed. God bless you as you walk with Him!

  2. Thanks Lady Debbie…I find the lovely treasure of Christ in every one of your poems.

  3. I thoroughly enjoy your blog and try to read it often. I have nominated you for the Versatile Blog Award and hope you will accept it in the loving spirit that I’m giving it. Check it out at http://versatileblogaward.wordpress.com What a blessing you are. Marie

  4. Tahlitha,
    This was refreshing and encouraging. I have been working a lot lately, life has been in fast forward and I haven’t had time to read much, but this was just what I needed to read. One step closer to home, how wonderful, how much to look forward to. With you it is walking, with me it is mountain biking, isn’t it amazing what God will say when we will only listen? God Bless-Jim

  5. This add a special something to our relationship with Christ. Thanks for the insightful thought, it may it worthwhile for us to be more accountable in walking this path way.

  6. It’s my decided that the Lord would order my every step, along the way! Great post. While thinking on your message, this song came to mind. Enjoy, and God bless you!

  7. Sorry! The word “decided” should have been “desire.” That’s a dictation error! 🙂

    Paulette

  8. Thank you very much. I’m honored. It’s has been a pleasure to share in word and thought with other writer’s the joy and salvation in Jesus Christ.

  9. Hi Jim, thanks. Yes it is amazing.
    Mountain biking, that’s awesome. I remember a post you shared about it. I’m trying to nudge my husband into bike riding, he has the bike, I’ll keep on encouraging him in it. I’m a bit of a runner too, but I’ve found walking to be a way for me to slow down and connect. God bless you too.

  10. Thank you too. I like your use of ‘worthwhile and accountable’. Both can be an enjoyable experience. Have a wonderful day.

  11. Thank you Paulette, what an encouragement. Order my steps, tongue, and heart Lord. What a blessing! One of my favorites. Thank you again.

  12. Thats cool, have never been able to be a runner, I am flat footed, although I did a lot of mountain running when younger, that was fun. Now mountain biking is my time of exercise and contemplation, silence with God. When I am in nature in the mountains by myself with God He whispers in my ears a lot. I worry about the younger folk who do not know how to ever unplug, to be alone with their thoughts and with God. If they are never “still” in their minds, how will they ever hear what The Master has to say to them?
    Keep on your husband about riding, it is great. I live next to a mountain preserve so I can ride right out of my garage to them. I lost 60 lbs within the first couple of months of starting, and have kept it off for a year and a half now, and try to ride 3-5 times a week. God bless you and your family sister!, Jim

  13. I’ll keep on encouraging him. He can be a hard shell to crack at times 🙂 I believe encouragement becomes a God-given benefit we spouses develop over time. Thanks Jim.

Share your voice...it's a blessing!

