When The Only One Who Has Faith Is God

But Sarah denied it, saying, “I did not laugh,” for she was afraid. He said, “No, but you did laugh.” Genesis 18:15

Have you ever told the Lord, ‘I believe’, having faith smaller than a mustard seed? Ever told Him, ‘I love you,’ with a little less love than you had the day before?

At times, our hearts and mouths don’t line up. And God knows it, let’s just say it, He knows it. Before we know it, He knows it. As God would tell Sarah, “No, but you did laugh,” God would have us, His children, to just come clean. ‘Just tell me.’ ‘Tell me you’re worried; tell me your faith is running low, your hope is drying up.’ ‘Just tell me’.

But that’s it. What’s it? That’s it.

He knows already, right? He knows I’m apprehensive. I’m guarded. I’m tight-lipped. Most times, anyway. And I’d rather not admit it. Admit the obvious to God. Admit that I’m not complicated, just frustrated.

God knew Sarah’s mind, heart, and womb. And God knows us intimately as well. Hiding (anything) from Him is impossible (Genesis 3:9), even in our hearts.

Be relieved.

We Christians should be relieved that God knows us (Matthew 10:30). That He knows what’s good for us, the directions we ought to go (Psalm 119:59), and the plans of His we should give birth to (Genesis 18:10). His foreknowledge and formation of us places sovereignty in our God that we are His… “looking to Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith…(Hebrews 12:2).

 You and I are scripted in Scripture.

God would tell us, reveal to us in the Bible, in Sarah, and other ‘hall of faith’ followers that He wasn’t, isn’t displeased that our faith doesn’t always match His mindset. He shows us what pleases Him most is when we come to Him with the faith that we have, nothing more, nothing less (mustard seed or mountain) and we draw on Him for strength, for an increase in faith, draw on Him for comfort and reassurance, that He would be our reward (Hebrews 11:6).

Sarah became a mother to one and many… “since she considered Him faithful who had promised” (Hebrews 11:11).

So let’s go Christians, in the presence of God we can always come clean.

© tahlitha chadwick

23 comments

  1. Amen! For this I am truly grateful… 🙂

  2. lbkennett · ·

    We are so often admonished to “just trust God.” This along with everything else which pleases God is just impossible for a human being to do. We just don’t have it in us to “just trust God” but Jesus did and does. Through His Spirit we are enabled to please God, to even believe/trust God. It is sooo freeing to realize this so we can stop trying to mustard it up! “I believe. Help my unbelief.”

  3. Amen Shannon, I am too. Grateful that God knows and strengthens. Thanks for the visit, be blessed!

  4. Thanks again for the reblog, Art.

  5. Hi Lena, it is freeing. We’re all turned loose to a freedom only found in Christ, to just trust, to just live, in everything that was done for us. Glory!

  6. lbkennett · ·

    Amen! 🙂

  7. Wonderful words. Lately I have had to confront some very real sin in my life; sin I wasn’t even aware of. Allowing fear a foothold in my life has had paralyzing consequences. I’ve made fear an idol and I didn’t want to reconcile, I wanted to hide. I have — am — coming clean to Him, asking Him moment to moment for His grace, His strength, and courage to fend off spiritual warfare.

    Thank you, Tahlitha.

    Hope you are well,
    Cara

  8. Hi Cara, thank you. I do indeed know and relate to the grip that fear (has) can have on us. As I took some time to just rest in that particular verse above the Holy Spirit touched on my reluctance to just come clean, fess up, if you will, to the holds in my life. That He would rather convict me to the things I try to tuck away in my heart than to see me afraid to tell Him anything. I thank God for every way that He reveals Himself to me. In encouragement and correction. I need it.

    ‘He knows,’ is what Jesus would have us to embrace…”For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but one who in every respect has been tempted as we are, yet without sin.” Hebrews 4:15

    All the best, let’s keep each other in prayer.

    God bless you!

  9. I loved this, Tahlitha. How encouraging to know that it’s okay . ..just go to Him with the faith we have. What an awesome God we have!
    God bless you as you continue to walk by faith and help us to too!

  10. We have an awesome God indeed! God bless you too, Lady Debbie!

  11. Absolutely, and Amen. Thank you for sharing your heart with me.

  12. This post truly brought a smile to my heart. You put something into words that all of us as His children really need to know. When we come to Him, it’s ok if our faith isn’t quite as much as we know we should have or would like to have. I believe, just coming to Him is enough… with an open heart…
    Be blessed Tahlitha!
    Stephanie

  13. Hi Stephanie, thanks for coming by. Truly, it’s our own prerequisites to faith that God would have us surrender. Christ is our perfecter. Our coming clean, our faith, what we have right now, in prayer, is faith enough that God can work with and use for His glory. He has and continues to use and strengthen anyone whose hope is in Him.

    A blessing to talk with you.

  14. Planting Potatoes · ·

    such good advice Tahlitha! Thanks for sharing!

  15. Hi Mark, thanks for stopping by. I read your latest post…one miracle after another. Isn’t that how God works?

    God bless you, and have a wonderful weekend.

  16. Planting Potatoes · ·

    yes Tahlitha…..I’ve learned that once I can see miracles in my own life…I begin to see miracles all around me! Once I start looking for God…he is every where!

  17. That is wonderful! ‘A lamp to our feet, a light to our path.’

  18. Planting Potatoes · ·

    amen!!!!!!!

  19. I like this post. It is comforting to know he accepts the faith we have. We don’t have to hide away because we think our faith isn’t enough.

  20. Hi Janna, it is comforting. I’m thankful Jesus promises all who come to him, laying everything at his feet, will find rest. I’m glad our Savior wants us to turn to Him to be renewed, give Him the victory. God bless us all. Have a wonderful weekend.

  21. I love how God gently draws us out of our hesitance/inability to be real. He’s so wonderful like that, and I’m so grateful He’s always there waiting to speak His truth into our lives. Great post, thank you!

  22. Hi Ali, thank you. There’s no doubt that He wants it all. Have a wonderful day!

Share your voice...it's a blessing!

