Honor Me By Being Still

“Be still, and know that I am God! I will be honored by every nation. I will be honored throughout the world.” Psalm 46:10

What things in life cause you to be frantic long before being still? Is it a million thoughts or just one? Is it the usual or sudden traffic jam? Maybe it’s the money or lack thereof? Could it be the possible lay-off or anticipated interview? How about a diagnosis or simple procedure? Perhaps the vows are now swears?

What a help is God right from the start, in the thick of it, and the breakthrough (Psalm 46:1). How during the blows, the bumps, and the bruises of life He would have us to place ourselves in His complete care, for you and I to just be still; watch the honor that He will take full claim of.

Why not take all of God’s help.

God’s wingspan (Psalm 91:4), armor and protection, are resting places. And instead of resting under them we can become afraid of the heights (and depths) of His help. God trusts His self; and wants us to do the same.

Times of trouble are God’s stomping ground for victory (Psalm 46:9). He takes what distresses us and gives us Him to turn to. God takes the trials in our lives, and this world, His world very seriously. Our confident way-maker places every bit of His self in our circumstances.

Just be still.

“Again and again,” the psalmist says in Psalm 71:20. God continues to bring His help, His refuge, and His honor to our very real troubles. God doesn’t loosen His grip on our troubles once we become believers, His hold is stronger than ever. He turned over His One and Only Son to revive us, brings us up (and out) time and time again.

Jesus asks the question, “If a man has a hundred sheep and one of them gets lost, what will he do?” Our troubles are no less, He comes for every one of them, and all we have to do is be still to the help, be still to the refuge, be still to His strength, and honor the Lord who has seen us through calamities many times before. “I will be honored, I will be honored”… aren’t just statements but guarantees to those who are still.

Why can’t I help?

It’s nothing personal, but God’s got this:

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong (2 Corinthians 12:9-10).   

So let’s go Christians, be still.

12 comments

  1. Besides 2 Cor 12:8, Psalm 46:10 is probably my favorite verse in all of the bible. It is simple: we must be still and we must know that He is God. What else is there? Thank you, being still right now is not easy for me; neither is it always easy to remember that He is God, that He is in control. I will mediate on this ALL day.

    Blessings,
    Cara

  2. Thank you for sharing this timely message, Tahlitha.

  3. I love how you write and what you write, Tahlitha. I need to hear this over and over . . .to be still, God’s got this. Thank you. And, I always love your ending . .let’s go Christians. God bless you as He stands strong on your behalf today!

  4. Hi Cara. Thank you. I woke up with this in my thinking and ear this morning, “What has happened that you hold on to you and not me?” I was convicted of the boundaries (the fix-it-myself notion) I was setting up or at least trying to set up with God. That particular verse in Psalm 46 made me aware of the honor God has and will be given. Who am I to even consider the parts of my life that I’ll ‘be still’ to? We serve a good God!

    Always a pleasure Cara.

  5. Hi Joseyphina. I couldn’t have read that verse and saw the application to my life at a better time than now. God has a way of having the very verse(s) we read to be the very verse(s) we need. Thank you young lady.

  6. Thank you Lady Debbie, the over and over is for me as well. God bless you too!

  7. Beautiful and thought-provoking post (as usual!) I’m not good at being still. How much freer I’d feel if I’d more easily turn to God in times of trouble.

  8. Thank you Janna for the sentiment. I know what you mean for sure but it can be prayerfully asked for. God is a constant help for the things we are and are not good at. Your writing always has a connection for me as well. Many blessings to you and your family.

  9. Amen!! I thank the Lord for me seeing and reading this! Bless you for sharing this message. I pray it goes deep down into the core of those who read it!

  10. Hi Terra. Thank you. The Word of God has a way of getting to the heart of our matters…His heart for ours. Your visit is a blessing. Have a lovely weekend!

  11. Our confident way-maker — I love that. I am holding on to that description of God while I try my best to sit still!

  12. That’s awesome Darla, we’ll hold on and be still together! I hope your weekend is going good.

Share your voice...it's a blessing!

