Throwing Around His Own Name

“Because he holds fast to me in love, I will deliver him; I will protect him, because he knows my name (Psalm 91:14).

Photo Credit: Andrew Haight (Creation Swap)

Photo Credit: Andrew Haight (Creation Swap)

God stands by his name. High in the heavens He declares his own sovereignty.

‘I hold on to those who don’t just hold on to any-old-thing but to those who hold on to my name in love.’

‘I deliver, I protect those who know my name.’

‘Trust in my name, love my name and there I am.’

‘My name holds weight, pulls rank, and stands guard (Psalm 34:7).’

If and Because

By coincidence or by design, (I choose the latter), the New Living Translation in verse 9 of this psalm and the English Standard Version in verse 14 of the same uses the words ‘if’ and ‘because’ with commitment and certainty.

A commitment that says (v.9-10), “If you make the Lord your refuge, if you make the Most High your shelter, no evil will conquer you; no plague will come near your home” and a certainty that reads (v.14), “Because he holds fast to me in love, I will deliver him; I will protect him, because he knows my name.”

Both uses and verses appear to share the same grandness of the name of the LORD. The words ‘if we’ and ‘because we’ bring us an overwhelming assurance. That ‘if we’ make his name our refuge and ‘because we’ hold on to his name, His Name stands above all names.

Call His Name…

God makes Jesus’ name urgent and specific. He saves and he is with us (Matthew 1:21-23). The old covenant becomes new in Jesus by atoning for sin once and for all. His name (and life) came to justify and reconcile us with God. Which is still the only way today.

The Spirit Helps

Our God and our needs never seem greater than in times of distress. And although we know his name in thanks, His name is displayed here in verse 14 in the hopes that we would know His name and its power are relentlessly in love with those who hold on to Him through faith, prayer, and His purpose.

Having the Holy Spirit present our utterances in prayer to God is worship being delivered by the right person, to the right name and the right address. (Romans 8:26-28).

So let’s go Christians, bless that wonderful name!

7 comments

  1. What is it that you young people say when someone really gets it right? “You nailed it!” 🙂

  2. Hi James, I don’t always feel youthful but thank you. I’m just seeking to grow in my relationship to God and his Word.

  3. Very well said….Your posting explains exactly why we should all treat the name of the Lord with respect and honor. There are so many people who believe taking the name of the Lord in vain is no big deal. It are those same people who do not understand the point behind this restriction. Our treatment of the name of the Lord clearly shows the level of respect and love that we have for Him in our heart.

    Thanks for a great posting.

  4. Thank you Pastor. It’s my hope and prayer that more of us come to know His name in reverence before every knee has to bow and every tongue has to confess.

    As always, thank you for visiting.

Share your voice...it's a blessing!

