Having A Winning Conversation

Likewise, ye wives, be in subjection to your own husbands; that, if any obey not the word, they also may without the word be won by the conversation of the wives; 2 While they behold your chaste conversation coupled with fear. 1 Peter 3:1-2 (KJV)

“Yes dear.” “You’re right, I don’t know everything.”

During the new year I vowed those two sayings (not being patronizing or condescending but in subjection) to my husband of nearly 15 years. I expressed to him that day that those were the areas (honoring his thoughts and his opinions) as his wife I fell short in. Having a respectful tongue wasn’t something I had yet completely turned over to God in prayer. I had yet to ask God for help in total surrender to Him in the way I spoke to my husband.

This prompting I now know was Spirit led. It was not in the use of my words but in the conduct of them. Did my words compliment my husband? Or were they more or less a tit-for-tat, a getting-nowhere downward spiral? In my own thinking I thought I was winning if I turned up the volume in a disagreement. Little did I realize that I was trying to out-speak God. My husband’s growth as a Christian or in any other area of his life wasn’t going to come from me being loud, it just wasn’t.

As a godly wife I know now that having a fearless tongue is not winning. It’s sinning. A fearful tongue is what the LORD requires. My heavenly Father is listening and watching the manner in which I speak to my husband. I gain not one thing if I act out in misusing my words. But if I act in accordance to my role as a wife God, and God alone does all the winning.

Surrendering to God is a compliment to my husband. My speaking, my conduct first and foremost is unto the LORD. And backing down, being quiet is not how these verses of Scripture should ever be viewed, these are verses that should rejuvenate a wife’s conversation to bring life into her marriage, her husband.

I thank God for His Word, that it is a must I read, a must I apply.

So let’s go Christian wives, let’s have winning conversations (with our husbands) unto the LORD.

2 comments

  1. God bless you and your marriage and your heart for Jesus and these messages that speak to us and encourage us to listen and obey!

  2. Thank you Debbie. There are immeasurable benefits in applying His Word to our lives. Your visits are uplifting.

Share your voice...it's a blessing!

