Jesus is Still Speaking

Whoever has my commandments and keeps them, he it is who loves me. And he who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I will love him and manifest myself to him. John 14:21

This morning was the usual up-and-at-em time for me and my boys. I prepared breakfast for our youngest and my oldest had a teenaged-sized bowl of cereal. We dived into the devotional for the morning and the above verse is what the message was on.

After we read and prayed (and our oldest headed out) I went to the easel in our kitchen and wrote out the verse so that it’s with me all day and with the boys when they return home.

As I was writing and speaking the verse out loud my 8 year old said, “Mom,” and I continued, “Mom,” he said again, and I continued, and once more he chimed in, “Mom.” It was then that I noticed that there are 4 ‘ands’ in this verse. So my son and I started to talk about what Jesus was saying. ‘Whoever has my commandments and keeps them… And he who loves me…and I will love him…and manifest myself to him.’

It became clear to me that Jesus is still speaking…even with the many interruptions, (children included), all around us.

*

Thank you for reading.

2 comments

  1. Wonderful! The Bible says: “Train up a child in the way he should go,
    And when he is old he will not depart from it” (Proverbs 22:6).

    Thanks a lot for sharing. God bless.

  2. That is my duty as it is my prayer for our children. God bless you too Noel.

Share your voice...it's a blessing!

