WordServe Water Cooler

How is your writing going?

I usually feel uncomfortable answering that question. However, I’ve discovered the answer is often linked to an even more intimidating question. How is your quiet time going?

Thankfully, I have people in my life who care enough to ask me that question. I must admit, there have been seasons when my quiet time wasn’t going well at all. There have even been periods of time when I yielded to the temptation to skip my time with the Lord all together.

At one point last year, after about a month of whispering arrow prayers to God as I rushed from one task to the next, I broke down in tears. I missed my connection with my Lord. I was exhausted and weary. I knew I desperately needed unstructured time with Him. I finally put my to-do list aside, opened my Bible, and just started reading. I longed to connect with God…

View original post 389 more words

6 comments

  1. uponmyheart · ·

    Thank you for re-blogging this and sharing. Oh how I needed it and how beautiful. Our Lord is too amazing for us to rush by. I want to learn to sit daily, not weekly on the grass, at His feet and soak all of Him in.

  2. A convicting post this morning . . . I fear my time with the Lord would fall under the “few and far between” category — at least in the traditional sense of sitting down to pour into scripture. While I am certain no one activity dictates that the Lord’s presence rests more heavily, I know it is for my benefit that I take time “away” to pray and speak intimately with Him.

    Thank you . . .

    Happy Friday to you, Tahlitha.

  3. God bless you, Uponmyheart. I need(ed) it as well. Have a lovely weekend.

  4. Happy Friday to you too, Cara! We can’t beat the Father’s heart for us. Have a wonderful weekend.

  5. Thank you for thinking of us and giving us something we all need to hear! God bless you abundantly and Happy Mother’s day too!

  6. Thank you Debbie, all the more to you.

Share your voice...it's a blessing!

